Family life, Paleo-ish eating and Coping with Chronic Illness

Handling Fear

I’ve tried to maintain a healthy mental distance from current events. Some people don’t just take in the day’s news. They absorb it.    A good fright penetrates all their living cells.  They are fear.

I have ALWAYS absorbed bad news. I see my 14-year-old daughter absorbing too.  Is it genetic?  Did I shape her this way? Yes,  to both. I see fear transform my sensitive daughter’s face, then her spirit.  I am committed to finding a better strategy for us.

What am I afraid of?

I am afraid for innocent people who are intending to do a fun thing, and see an interesting place, but lose their limbs or their lives instead.  I’m afraid for moms and dads who just want to go to work and raise their family, but put their belongings on their back, and their children in a tiny boat and head into the raging sea instead.  Hoping to outrun evil.

I’m afraid for people who are afraid.

I’m afraid OF people too.  I’m afraid of people who invite evil to inhabit their souls. I’m afraid of people who offer easy solutions.  I’m afraid of people who spout party lines.  I’m afraid of decision makers who won’t admit more questions than answers.

I’m pausing.  I’m praying. I’m listening.

Let fear go.  Consider all sides.  Look for context.  Don’t react.  Respond slowly.  Question what you hear.  Be selective about what you are watching.  Listen for your Heavenly Father’s voice. Learn His language. He speaks words of love, encouragement, peace, humility and justice.

1 John 4:4 (The Message) My dear children, you come from God and belong to God. You have already won a big victory over those false teachers, for the Spirit in you is far stronger than anything in the world.

1 John 4:18 (NIV) There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

 

courage

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

