Family life, Paleo-ish eating and Coping with Chronic Illness

Addiction

choc chip cookies

I know. I know. I need some serious help in the food photography department. Another day. My family and I are busy working through some serious issues. We are searching for a good family therapist, one who deals with chocolate dependency and all the brokenness and anguish that goes along with it. We have a household of five raging addicts.

You know what I’m talking about. “Where’d the stinkin’ chocolate chips go? I just bought a jumbo bag at Costco this week.” Then the blame game starts which leads to shame, guilt and a need to soothe yourself…with more chocolate chips.

This week I discovered someone had hidden the bag of chocolate chips in the bathroom closet. Underneath my feminine products. That was actually brilliant. Seriously, credit where credit is due. No self-respecting male is going to eat chocolate that has been adjacent to that stuff, unless you’re addicted.

When you are hungry for something sweet in our house, there is absolutely nothing packaged that you can open quickly and shove down your pie hole. Unless you wanna call the skins on apples packaging. We always have plenty of those to rip through. So, I do buy chocolate chips and I do make grain free cookies. Chocolate chips are not Paleo. And, that’s why I would appreciate you not calling the Paleo police.

I make huge batches of chocolate chip cookies on Saturday morning. If each family member ate about one or two a day, the cookies could last the whole week. When they’re gone that same evening, you’re left with five strung out people, wondering when they’re gonna get their next fix. If you notice any of us are little jumpy during the week, now you know why.

I actually do have a grain free chocolate chip cookie recipe that I made up. One of Zeke’s non Paleo friends said they were the best cookies he’s ever had, and I have had other folks ask me for the recipe (Again, by “folks”, I mean my mom). These cookies are chewy and crispy all at once. You can definitely taste the coconut too. So, if you don’t like coconut, They’re not for you.

I’m gonna break my own rule (something I try NOT to do more than a few times a day) and give the recipe to you now. I have double checked the measurements, I really do think I have them right. But, then again, I may have them wrong.

Our family has to substitute the eggs, because Eddie is allergic to egg whites. Substituting eggs in your baking is a real, honest-to-goodness-pain-in-the-butt, but people do seem to prefer the egg free version of this cookie over the ones with eggs.

If these do not turn out, I’m gonna ask you to keep it to yourself. I prefer only positive comments, and things that make me sound good. Here it goes:

*These cookies cannot be called “Paleo”. They are a gluten-free treat. And, they are delicious.

1 cup butter (softened)
1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)
1 cup honey
1 cup coconut sugar (You can use brown sugar if you’re okay with that)
3 cups almond flour
1 cup tapioca flour
1/4 cup coconut flour
2 tsp vanilla
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp xanthum gum powder
2 TBS ground chia seeds (grind in coffee grinder)
1/4 cup hot water (If you prefer, use 4 eggs instead of chia seeds and water)
2 cups rice crispies (not paleo, but gluten free, so let’s pretend they’re okay)
1 cup shredded coconut
1 bag of Dark Chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1. Put the ground chia seeds in hot water and let sit while you do step two.
2. Mix the butter, coconut oil, honey and sugar together.
3. Add your chia seed mixture and vanilla. Stir.
4. Add dry, powder ingredients
5. Add coconut, Rice Crispies and Dark Chocolate chips
6. Drop by spoonfuls on pan. I put wax paper down for no mess. Give the cookies their distance, they’ll spread. Also, I shape mine into balls and flatten a bit so they’re all pretty.
7. Bake for 12 minutes
8. Feed your addiction

Comments on: "Addiction" (2)

  1. oh Miki, you are just the funniest girl ever… I love you sweet little cousin… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

