Family life, Paleo-ish eating and Coping with Chronic Illness

Home Repair

On Sunday Scott, Zeke, Olivia and I went to an open house in our neighborhood. We don’t plan on moving, but then again, we don’t plan on not moving either. We (I) love our house and its location. But, oh my, there are so many things that need to be remodeled/fixed/updated.

For quite a few years we were operating under a bit of an illusion that we could manage these projects ourselves. I would give Scott lists of things that would need to be done. He tackled a few of the items. He’s very intelligent and highly educated. So, I had a lot of confidence in him.

One year I asked him to finish putting up the trim in the bathroom. Then I asked him again the next year, and then the next. Finally, one summer he took me by the shoulders, looked me in the eye and he said, “I am never going to put that trim up. Not today. Not tomorrow. Not ever. I am not good at fixing things. I don’t like fixing things. This charade should end now.” He actually didn’t say the “charade” part, but couldn’t you just feel the drama?

Stunned! That’s what I was. Scott hates delivering bad news. I mean he REALLY hates it. He hates it so much that he has always made me wake the kids up in the morning. He just can’t bring himself to break the news to them that their sleep is over and it’s time to get up. Needless to say, hearing this definitive declaration from him was a shock. I knew he meant it, and it changed things.

Now, instead of waiting years to fix a broken door, I can pick up the phone and have it done today. If I was a handyman, I’d drive a van that looks like a lamp and write “Magic Genie” on the side of it. Because that’s what those guys are…magic. When they come and fix things I always thank them profusely for getting the job done in less than 8 years. It’s outstanding. And for Scott’s part, he couldn’t be happier. He doesn’t have to keep dodging me. It was getting trickier and trickier for him living under the same 1500 square foot roof with me for all those years.

I have a lot of phone calls to make now. And, of course, each call I make is going to cost us a Kajillion (roughly) more dollars than if we could do it ourselves. So, who knows? Some day we may just scrap it all and start over somewhere else.

Comments on: "Home Repair" (1)

  1. Having spent the good part of eight years getting our house ready for sale, I can tell you that while we saved a lot of money doing it, we were not the happiest people you’ve ever met during that time. And eight years is a long time.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

